Best of Links (Linky Love) for Sunny Winter Days – Prompt Response

Last week taught me the importance of what it is you post online. Today I will apply the lessons I’ve learned to my response to my J452 professor’s latest prompt. Yet again I play the role of over-achiever and respond to two links instead of one. This time, however, more than simply self-interest lies at stake.

 

Self-explanatory.

Recently the Susan G. Komen For the Cure Foundation announced it will no longer provide funding for Planned Parenthood. Among the services this years-old partnership provided were breast cancer screenings for low-income women. Now I could be incredibly out of line for saying this, but I have a nagging suspicion that this defeats Komen’s purpose of fighting breast cancer. The author of one of the links my professor posted speculates that the organization’s motivation is entirely political, despite their assertions of otherwise.

Because the local Planned Parenthood chapter is one of the nonprofits I plan on covering in my blog, I feel it is worth putting my two cents into the issue. The abortion debate probably falls somewhere in the Top 10 most overplayed political “issues” of all time. Many, many, many sources have noted that only three percent of Planned Parenthood’s funding goes towards abortion services. Gasp, three whole percentage points!  That’s, like, out of a hundred, right? It’s a shame that Komen would rather side with the right-wing politicians investigating Planned Parenthood than provide health services to poor women. Such political bravery!

Ok, lets calm down here. No more politics. Now I’m going to zero in on the real point of this blog. Another link my professor posted discusses the usefulness of infographs. Because of personal biases I am reluctant to admit the power of visuals over words. However, for most people statistics are dry and boring. What good does it do most people to know that 66 percent of the world’s drinking water is contaminated? While a picture of a glass that’s two-thirds full probably isn’t a whole ton more useful for most, it’s better for grasping the magnitude of the issue.

I believe that creating and utilizing infographs can be a relatively inexpensive and effective tool for local nonprofits such as Planned Parenthood, NextStep Recycling, and FOOD for Lane County, particularly for soliciting donations from potential donors. A graphic designer can create the infograph using relevant data (such as the services Planned Parenthood provides, or the needs of Lane County’s poor) and share it with the general public using social media such as Facebook or Twitter. While it’s a simple and popular tool, if used correctly it can supplement a successful campaign.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

